ICC World Cup – This is how it all started.

icc world cup

ICC World cup 2019 has reached the second stage and we will get the new world champion on July 14, 2019. India, Australia, England, and New Zealand have qualified for the semifinals to be held on 9th and 11th July. India will face New Zealand in the first match of the semifinal round and Australi will face England in the second semifinal.

ICC World Cup – History and Facts

Let’s dig into some interesting facts about the biggest tournament of the cricketing world. Do you know when was the ICC world cup started and who had won it?

ICC World cup is the World Championship in ODI format organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), every four years.

1. The first official International cricket match was played between British Empire’s Canadian Province and the United States, on 24 and 25 September 1844. The Canadian team won the match by 23 runs.

2. The first multilateral tournament was held in 1912 between England, Australia, and South Africa, the then only three teams with Test Status.

3. The first World Cup was organized in England in June 1975. West Indies defeated Australia in the final at Lord’s by 17 runs to become the first World Cup winners.

4. England hosted the first three World Cups (1975, 1979, 1983) officially known as the Prudential Cup after the sponsor Prudential plc.

5. The matches consisted of 60 six-ball overs per team for the first three World Cup. The games were reduced from 60 to 50 overs per innings, because of the shorter daylight hours in the Indian subcontinent.

6. Australia has won the tournament five times, West Indies and India twice each, and Pakistan and Sri Lanka once each.

7. England has hosted the most World Cups -a total of five but has never won the title.

8. The current ICC World Cup trophy was created for the 1999 championships. The ICC keeps the original trophy and a replica differing only in the inscriptions is permanently awarded to the winning team.

9. In 2007 Australia became the first and only team to win three consecutive World Cup titles.

10. The ICC World Cup 2023 will be hosted by India.

ICC World Cup 2019

The 2019 World cup is being hosted by England and Wales. The top eight teams in the ICC One Day International rankings as of 30 September 2017 earned an automatic qualification, while the remaining two spots were decided by the 2018 Cricket World Cup Qualifier.

Ireland and Afghanistan got promoted to the ICC ODI Championship and were also granted full ICC membership, becoming the newest Test cricketing nations.

West Indies and Afghanistan became the final two teams to qualify for the tournament. Scotland, Ireland, and Zimbabwe failed to make it to world cup 2019. This was the first time since 1983 that Zimbabwe could not qualify.

You May also like:
Ravindra Jadeja slams Sanjay Manjrekar, and for a reason