The Ashes trophy- A lot more than cricket.

Ashes Trophy

The Ashes trophy is the prestigious Test cricket series held between cricketing arch-rivals England and Australia.

It is not just another Test Cricket series, The Ashes Trophy is a matter of pride for both the countries. The reason being an intersting history associated with the origin of the term “Ashes Trophy”.  Aproximately 138 years old Ashes Urn is also unique and one of its kind.

Ashes Trophy
Ashes Trophy

Interesting facts

The term “Ashes” originated from the sarcastic obituary published in the British newspaper “The Sporting Times” after Australia’s first Test win on English soil in the year 1882 at The Oval ground.

The article stated that the English cricket had died, and ” whose demise was deeply lamented and the body would be cremated and taken to Australia “. The term “Ashes” was then imediately adopted for the Test match series of the following Year. The then England captain Ho. Ivo Bligh vowed to “regain those ashes”.

The 1982-83 tour of England was termed as the quest to regain the Ashes.

A group of Melbourne women including Florence Morphy Ivo Bligh’s later wife then had presented a small Urn to Bligh after England won two of the three Tests on the tour

It is said that the Urn contains the ashes of a cricket bail and was described as “the ashes of Australian cricket”.

Irrespective of which side wins the series, the original 15cm tall Urn remains in the MCC Museum at Lord’s, as it is a private memento and not the official trophy.

The waterford crystal representation of this Urn is presented as the official “Ashes Trophy” to the winners of the series.

The winning team is presented with this crystal Urn trophy. In case of a series draw, the title and the trophy remians with the previous winners.

The Ashes 2019 series will be held in England from 1st August 2019 to 16 September 2019. Australia had won the 2017-18 series. There have been 70 Ashes series so far, Australia has won 33, England 32 and 5 series have been drawn. The 5 test match series is hosted by England and Australia in turns.